est. 1918

About CIPLA:

In 1918, members of the patent profession from Cleveland, Akron and Canton formed the Cleveland Patent Law Association. The name was changed to the Cleveland Intellectual Property Law Association (CIPLA) in 1990.

CIPLA is open to past and present members of the Bar with a practice in Intellectual Property Law, patent agents, and law students interested in Intellectual Property Law. CIPLA currently has approximately 400 Active Members, 66 Life Members, 5 Associate Members, 12 Honorary Members, and 14 Student Members.

CIPLA is an active group, bringing together the private practitioner and the corporate lawyer at meetings that typically include dinner and a speaker on topics of interest to the profession. Breakout sessions preceding dinner provide the opportunity to earn Continuing Legal Education (CLE) credits.

Meetings are held throughout the year at various locations in Cleveland and Akron. In the spring, an annual dinner dance is held where the new officers of the Association are elected. Annual membership dues are currently $40 for most members, $35 for members admitted to the bar fewer than five years, and $10 for law students. The dinner meetings cost $30 ($15 for student members). There is no charge for the CLE breakout sessions.

In addition, CIPLA cosponsors an annual Intellectual Property Law Seminar, the All-Ohio Annual Institute on Intellectual Property. The All-Ohio program has been held annually since 1991 and attracts top IP scholars who speak on a variety of topics.


Founding Members:

Ira J. Adams Elbert L. Hyde
E.R. Alexander B.M. Kent
J.H. Anderson Arthur F. Kwis
Albert H. Bates C.L. Landon
Charles E. Brock Justin W. Macklin
Bluford W. Brockett Arthur E. Merkel
Hon. William L. Day R.B. Moser
G.E. Dunstan John F. Oberlin
Albert L. Ely Robert M. Pierson
Horace B. Fay George B. Pitts
Jesse B. Fay F.O. Richey
T.H. Fay John F. Robb
Karl Fenning George W. Saywell
H.T. Fisher Frank L. Sessions
Harry Frease Harold E. Smith
Ray S. Gehr Edwin L. Thurston
Wayne M. Hart Brennan B. West
Arthur J. Hudson Joseph L. Wright
John B. Hull

Past Presidents:

1918-22 Jesse B. Fay
1923-24 Harry Frease
1925-27 John B. Hull
1928-29 Albert Lynn Lawrence
1930-31 Albert H. Bates
1932-33 Arthur F. Kwis
1934-35 John R. Milburn
1936-37 John F. Oberlin
1937-38 Elbert L. Hyde
1938-39 George W. Saywell
1939-40 Harvey Hawgood
1940-41 Robert W. Wilson
1941-42 William C. Mccoy
1942-43 Arthur J. Hudson
1943-44 Ray S. Gehr
1944-45 John H. Anderson
1945-46 Harry R. Canfield
1946-47 John W. Meyer
1947-48 Albert R. Teare
1948-49 Solon J. Boughton
1949-50 B.D. Watts
1950-51 John R. Robb
1951-52 Lloyd L. Evans
1952-53 Charles E. Herrstrom
1953-54 William E. Williams
1954-55 Harry C. Page
1955-56 George S. Baldwin
1956-57 Frederic M. Bosworth
1957-58 James T. Hoffman
1958-59 Joseph F. Frease
1959-60 Jerome F. Kramer
1960-61 John C. Oberlin
1961-62 Joseph B. Teagno
1962-63 Vernon G. Parker
1963-64 Wm. Crighton Sessions
1964-65 Robert A. Sturges
1965-66 Leland L. Chapman
1966-67 Ernest K. Bean
1967-68 John F. Pearne
1968-69 Richard G. Smith
1969-70 James H. Tilberry
1970-71 Harold S. Meyer
1971-72 Walter Maky
1972-73 John N. Wolfrm
1973-74 J. Herman Yount, Jr.
1974-75 Merton H. Douthitt
1975-76 Thomas E. Fisher
1976-77 Frank C. Rote
1977-78 Clayton J. Toddy
1978-79 Alfred C. Body
1979-80 Albert C. Doxsey
1980-81 Lowell L. Heinke
1981-82 James A. Lucas
1982-83 Albert P. Sharpe III
1983-84 Frank C. Manak III
1984-85 Edward (Ned) Oldham
1985-86 Thomas M. Schmitz
1986-87 James A. Watterson
1987-88 James V. Tura
1988-89 James A. Baker
1989-90 Ernst H. Ruf
1990-91 Armand P. Boisselle
1991-92 Daniel J. Hudak
1992-93 Donald A. Rowe
1993-94 David A. Thomas
1994-95 Christopher B. Fagan
1995-96 Mary Ann Tucker
1996-97 Regan J. Fay
1997-98 James M. Moore
1998-99 Mark A. Watkins
1999-00 Neil DuChez
2000-01 Robert E. McDonald
2001-02 Don W. Bulson
2002-03 Kenneth C. Williams
2003-04 Michael W. Garvey
2004-05 Jeffrey M. Samuels
2005-06 Heidi A. Boehlefeld
2006-07 Daniel S. Kalka
2007-08 James A. Dimitrijevs
2008-09 Vivian Y. Tsang
2009-10 Steven M. Auvil
2010-11 Jon D. Wood
2011-12 John A. Kastelic
2012-13 Deborah A. Wilcox
2013-14 Patricia A. Motta
2014-15 Chris H. Hunter
2015-16 Tara A. Kastelic
2016-17Ari Sherwin
2017-18Luis A. Carrion
2018-19 Una L. Lauricia
2019-20Georgia Yanchar


© 2017 The Cleveland Intellectual Property Law Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software