est. 1918

Thursday, April 4, 2019 CIPLA Meeting

  • April 04, 2019
  • 4:30 PM - 8:00 PM
  • Cleveland Marriott Downtown @ Key Center (127 Public Square, Cleveland, Ohio 44114)


Registration is closed


Cleveland Marriott Downtown
Key Center
127 Public Square
Cleveland, Ohio  44114



In-House Committee (1.00 hr CLE credit)

Steven Miller, The Procter & Gamble Company (Retired)

“Reflections on Working with and for In-house and Outside Counsel”

IP Licensing and Transactions Committee (1.00 hr CLE credit)

Heather Barnes, Tucker Ellis LLP

"Avoid the IP Landmines in Corporate Transactions"

Cocktail Reception (5:30–6:15 p.m., Open Bar and Bruschetta Station)   

Dinner (6:15–7:30 p.m.):

Dr. Frank Papay, Chairman of the Dermatology and Plastic Surgery Institute at the Cleveland Clinic

Frank A. Papay, MD, an accomplished surgeon, and is the craniofacial surgeon member of America’s first face transplant surgical team. He is head of the section of craniofacial surgery, director of the craniofacial surgical fellowship, leads the multidisciplinary craniofacial cleft palate surgical center of the Cleveland Clinic. Dr. Papay has been awarded WebMD’s 2014 Health Hero for his work with migraine headache technology. He was inducted into the National Academy of Inventors class of 2017.


Ted Theofrastous, OPPBP Chairman and Damian Porcari, Director of the Elijah J. McCoy Midwest Regional USPTO will present the following awards during dinner: 

  • USPTO Certificate of Achievement 50 Hours
    • Liza Heinig, Tarolli, Sundheim, Covell & Tummino LLP
    • Julie Micalizzi, McDonald Hopkins
    • Mark Guinto, McDonald Hopkins
  • Rookie of the Year
    • Jessica Fross, City of Mentor
  • MVP Volunteer -Firms
    • Mark Guinto, McDonald Hopkins
  • MVP Volunteer -Corporation
    • Kevin Dunn, Lincoln Electric
  • Hall of Fame Award-Patent Issued
    • Brian Bolinger, Tarolli, Sundheim, Covell & Tummino LLP
    • Donald Firca, Kraguljac Law Group, LLC
    • Rich Wesorick, Tarolli, Sundheim, Covell & Tummino LLP
    • Robert Schmidt, Tarolli, Sundheim, Covell & Tummino LLP
  • Founding Firms
    • Emerson Thomson Bennett (Roger Emerson)
  • Founding Corporations/Sponsors
    • Parker Hannifin (Chris Hunter)
    • Lincoln Electric (Kevin Dunn)



Members:  Dinner – $30; CLE –Free

Non-Members:  Dinner – $40;CLE – $40

Student Members and Non-member Students:  Dinner –$15; CLE – Free


Patent Pro Bono Breakfast: 

Please join us on Saturday, April 13th, 2019, for the 3rd annual Pro Bono Day organized in partnership by the Ohio Patent Pro Bono Program and CIPLA!

What: Pro Bono Day

Date: Saturday, April 13th, 2019

Time: 10 AM-12 PM

Annual Meeting SAVE THE DATE:   

Our Annual Meeting and Dinner will be held on May 11, 2019 at Rain Forest at Cleveland Zoo.  Please plan to attend!

© 2011-23 The Cleveland Intellectual Property Law Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software